Initiative Münchner Galerien zeitgenößischer Kunst

 

Florian Süssmayr

30.05.2020 - 31.07.2020
Florian Süssmayr

Florian Süssmayr began to paint Saint Sebastian long before Corona. Now, the imagery of the patron saint of plague victims hits a special nerve. Therefore, Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle is all the more delighted to open its doors again and present you the newest works of this Munich-based painter.

It is not the subject of Saint Sebastian as such that interests the artist—Süssmayr focuses his attention on the surface laid over it, the one in front of it, which changes the pictorial space through interventions. Surfaces are the thematic thread that spins through the exhibition Florian Süssmayr zeigt (2020).

On view for the first time are large-format textile works that play with overlapping motifs and media in a manner typical for the artist. They are based on some of his curtain paintings, which he photographed and manipulated digitally to finally use them as a basis to create woven textiles. These works were made in cooperation with the Augsburg Textile and Industry Museum (tim) in this technique using their looms. They are doubled constructions of textile and texture, material and materiality.

One of the curtain paintings was part of last year’s exhibition Hey Psycho! at the Arsenale Institute for Politics of Representation, which took place during the Biennale di Venezia. In it, curator Wolfgang Scheppe juxtaposed Florian Süssmayr’s with conceptual artist Douglas Gordon’s works. Both artists share a self-reflexive way of working and a fondness for Alfred Hitchcock’s device of mirror images in the 1960 film Psycho. Their Self Portraits show that “that both artists only approach their perception of the world through the agency of mediatization. Mimesis or the imitation of perceived nature is inevitably already overcome as a deceptive immediacy.” Hence, their own view of things is firmly inscribed in each image.

A-boards, which we usually see in front of bars or coffeeshops, extend the two-dimensional surface into the physical space. In this part of the exhibition, visitors pass several subjects Florian Süssmayr is known for. But instead of presenting today’s specials, they open new visual worlds. (J.Singer)

Florian Süssmayr
Hey Sebastian, 2020
Öl auf Leinwand
160 x 100 cm
courtesy Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle

 

 

Taking place at

Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle

Amalienstr. 41 (Rgb.)  • 80799 M
Tel. +49 89 33 36 86 • Fax: +49 89 34 22 96
www.galerie-schoettle.deinfo@galerie-schoettle.de
Tue-Fri 1-6 pm

Initiative Münchner Galerien zeitgenößischer Kunst

 

Florian Süssmayr

30.05.2020 - 31.07.2020
Florian Süssmayr

Als Florian Süssmayr begann den heiligen Sebastian zu malen, war Corona noch in weiter Ferne. Jetzt trifft das Bildmotiv des Schutzpatrons der Seuchen genau den Nerv der Zeit. Umso mehr freut sich die Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle, wieder ihre Türen öffnen zu können und Ihnen jetzt die neuen Arbeiten des Münchner Malers zu präsentieren.

Nicht das Sujet des Sebastians als solches ist Thema für den Künstler – er widmet sich der Oberfläche darüber, davor, welche durch Interventionen den Bildraum verändert. Die Oberfläche zieht sich als durchgängiges Thema durch die Ausstellung „Florian Süssmayr zeigt (2020)“.

Erstmals sind großformatige Stoff-Arbeiten zu sehen, die in typischer Manier mit Überlagerungen von Motiven und Medien spielen, sie basieren auf einigen seiner Vorhanggemälde, die von ihm abfotografiert und digital modifiziert wurden, um schließlich auf dieser Grundlage gewebt zu werden. Diese Werke sind in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Augsburger Textil- und Industriemuseum (tim) in dieser Technik an deren Webstuhl entstanden. Es sind Doppelungen aus Stoff und Stofflichkeit, Material und Materialität.

Eines dieser Vorhanggemälde war im letzten Jahr Teil der Ausstellung Hey Psycho! im Arsenale Institute for Politics of Representation, die während der Biennale di Venezia stattfand. Kurator Wolfgang Scheppe stellte hier die Werke von Florian Süssmayr dem Konzeptkünstler Douglas Gordon gegenüber, denen unverkennbar die selbstreflexive Arbeitsweise gemein ist und die Nähe zu Alfred Hitchcocks Filmmotiv der Spiegelbilder in Psycho von 1960. Gerade an ihren Selbstportraits zeigt sich, „dass beide Künstler sich der Sichtbarkeit der Welt nur über … ihre… Mediatisiertheit nähern und die Mimesis oder Nachahmung vermeintlicher Natur immer schon als falsche Unmittelbarkeit überwunden ist.“ Die eigene Sicht auf die Dinge ist jedem Bild also fest eingeschrieben.

Durch Aufsteller, die uns normalerweise vor Gaststätten geläufig sind, wird die zweidimensionale Oberfläche in den physischen Raum erweitert. In diesem Teil der Ausstellung durchläuft man einen Parcour durch bekannte Sujets von Florian Süssmayr, die anstelle von Tagesangeboten weitere neue Bildwelten eröffnen. (J.Singer)

Florian Süssmayr
Hey Sebastian, 2020
Öl auf Leinwand
160 x 100 cm
courtesy Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle

 

 

Ausstellungsort

Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle

Amalienstr. 41 (Rgb.)  • 80799 M
Tel. +49 89 33 36 86 • Fax +49 89 34 22 96
Di–Fr 13–18 und nach Vereinbarung