Initiative Münchner Galerien zeitgenößischer Kunst

 

UMAY

3 Hamburger Frauen
21.06.2018 - 25.07.2018
UMAY

Ergül Cengiz
Henrieke Ribbe
Kathrin Wolf

The exhibition “Umay” (Turkish: Goddess of women and children), created by the artist collective “3 Hamburger Frauen,” is a unique temporary and accessible installation at the Gallerie Françoise Heitsch, Munich.
For “Umay” the artists Ergül Cengiz, Henrieke Ribbe, and Kathrin Wolf collaged filigree drawings, expressive paintings, ornamentation, and portraits in the style of the old masters on the walls and in the space itself. It is due to the interplay of two- and three-dimensional elements together with transparent lightness and the dark depth of the space, the work is interwoven to a multifarious “3 Hamburger Frauen cosmos.” It is shaped by the conditions and the collaborative spontaneity at the respective locations, but receives its density also through the long-standing artistic collaboration of the three women.
The new work displayed at the Galerie Françoise Heitsch is dedicated to the campaigners of the women suffrage and its 100th anniversary and builds content-wise on the last wall collage “Wild Thoughts” (400 x 300 cm), shown in the exhibition “Sexed Power” at the MOM Art Space in March 2018. Central to the image is a drawing of five feminists, the so-called “radicals.” The template for the drawing is a photograph, which originated in the Munich-based photography studio “Elvira” in 1887. Furthermore, the artists present themselves as Cowboys of which one was supposedly in a relationship with Calamity Jane – a character shrouded in myth. Calamity Jane, who asserted herself riding and shooting in the Wild West, keeps the scenes of the image at bay with her rifle.
Humorously and in a self-staged manner, quotes derived from art and pop culture are employed in order to comment on current as well as historical topics. Due to the tense relationship between elements derived from gestural painting of abstract Modernity, reminiscences of COBRA, and colourful geometry, the 3 Hamburger Frauen are able to repeatedly give rise to questions on how gender stereotypes can be debated anew in contemporary painting.
Since graduating from HFBK Hamburg in 2004, Ergül Cengiz, Henrieke Ribbe, and Kathrin Wolf have been working together and have thus also been able to establish their own artistic signature. With their location-specific, often ephemeral space-consuming works, such as murals, installations, and collages, the collective has been presented at several Museums and Kunstverein.

 

 

 

Taking place at

Galerie Francoise Heitsch

Amalienstr. 19 • 80333 M
Tel. +49 89 48 12 00 • Fax +49 89 48 12 01
www.francoiseheitsch.defheitsch@francoiseheitsch.de
Thu+Fri 2–7 pm • Sat 12–4 pm
and by appointment

Initiative Münchner Galerien zeitgenößischer Kunst

 

UMAY

3 Hamburger Frauen
21.06.2018 - 25.07.2018
UMAY

Ergül Cengiz
Henrieke Ribbe
Kathrin Wolf

Mit der Austellung „Umay“ (türk. Göttin der Frauen und Kinder) schafft das Künstlerinnenkollekiv „3 Hamburger Frauen“ eine einmalige temporäre, begehbare Rauminstallation in der Galerie Françoise Heitsch in München.
Für „Umay“ collagieren die Künstlerinnen Ergül Cengiz, Henrieke Ribbe und Kathrin Wolf filigrane Zeichnung, expressive Malerei, Ornamentik und altmeisterliche Portraits an der Wand und im Raum. Durch das Spiel mit Zwei- und Dreidimensionalität, mit transparenter Leichtigkeit und dunkler Raumtiefe verwebt sich das Werk zu dem facettenreichen „3 Hamburger Frauen-Kosmos“. Dieser ist durch die jeweiligen Bedingungen und die Spontanität der Zusammenarbeit vor Ort geprägt, erhält aber seine Dichte aus der jahrelangen künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit der drei Frauen.
Das neue Werk in der Galerie Françoise Heitsch ist den Vorkämpferinnen des Frauenwahlrechts zum 100-jährigen Jubiläum gewidmet und knüpft inhaltlich an die letzte Wandcollage „Wild Thoughts“ (400 x 300 cm) an, die im März 2018 in der Ausstellung „Sexed Power“ im MOM Art Space zu sehen war. Im Zentrum des Bildes stand eine Zeichnung von fünf Feministinnen, den so genannten ‚Radikalen‘. Als Vorlage für die Zeichnung diente ein Foto, das 1887 in ihrem Münchener Treffpunkt, dem Fotostudio ‚Elvira‘ entstand. Außerdem präsentierten sich die Künstlerinnen hier als Cowboys, von denen einer mit der mythenumrankten Calamity Jane liiert gewesen sein soll. Calamity Jane, die sich reitend und schießend im Wilden Westen behauptete, hielt mit dem Gewehr die Szenerie des Bildes in Schach.
Humorvoll werden in Selbstinszenierungen Zitate aus der Kunst und Popkultur genutzt, um sich zu aktuellen und historischen Themen zu positionieren. Im Spannungsfeld von Elementen der gestischen Malerei der abstrakten Moderne, Reminiszenzen an die Gruppe Cobra und bunter Geometrie werfen die 3 Hamburger Frauen immer wieder die Frage auf, wie Rollenklischees in der zeitgenössischen Malerei neu verhandelt werden können.
Seit ihrem Studienabschluss 2004 an der HFBK Hamburg arbeiten Ergül Cengiz, Henrieke Ribbe und Kathrin Wolf zusammen und haben mit dieser Kollaboration eine eigene künstlerische Handschrift etabliert. Mit ortsspezifischen, meist ephemeren raumgreifenden Werken wie Wandmalereien, Installationen und Collagen hat das Kollektiv in mehreren Museen und Kunstvereinen ausgestellt.

 

 

 

Ausstellungsort

Galerie Francoise Heitsch

Amalienstr. 19 • 80333 M
Tel. +49 89 48 12 00 • Fax +49 89 48 12 01
www.francoiseheitsch.defheitsch@francoiseheitsch.de
Mi–Fr 14–19 • Sa 12–16