Initiative Münchner Galerien zeitgenößischer Kunst

 

Haus der Kunst

Prinzregentenstr. 1 • 80538 M
Tel +49 (0) 89 211 27 113
www.hausderkunst.de
mail@hausderkunst.de
Mon–Sun 10 am – 8 pm • Thu 10 am – 10 pm

Prinzregentenstr. 1
80538 München

Current exhibitions

Theaster Gates: Black Chapel

Theaster Gates: Black Chapel

25.10.2019 - 16.08.2020
 

Sung Tieu. Zugzwang

Sung Tieu. Zugzwang

Kapsel 11

30.01.2020 - 30.08.2020
 

Brainwashed

Brainwashed

31.01.2020 - 20.09.2020
Sammlung Goetz im Haus der Kunst, München

Brainwashed is dedicated to the pop cultural phenomenon of the mainstream, which reached its climax in the early 2000s. Characteristic of this mainstream were media formats such as reality TV, Hollywood film productions with the claim of being global events, an advertising industry dominated by self-improvement and an internationally driven star cult with countless music videos.

The exhibition explores the question as to which manipulative strategies in pluralistic societies were able to create a media consonance, a tone-setting taste in culture, including the propagation of political convictions or even hegemonic views of history.
The selection of works reveals the link between economy, media and politics, which aims at influencing people and maximizing profits. The artists brought together here critically expose commercial visual languages and their contradictory promises, stereotypes and clichés. Their artistic processes of deconstruction include new editing and collage techniques, as well as diverse practices of self-statging, such as medially communicated branding.
The extent to which the mainstream of the early 2000s resulted in – and continues to effect – a radically destabilised sense of self-confidence and personal judgement. This also affected the popular images we have of artists. The exhibition strives to raise awareness for these mechanisms of manipulated seeing and feeling, as well as the attitudes of reception influenced by them in event societies.

With assume vivid astro focus, A K Dolven, Cheryl Donegan, Ryan Gander, Jonathan Horowitz, Bjørn Melhus, Tracey Moffatt & Gary Hillberg, Shana Moulton, Seth Price, Paul Pfeiffer, Pipilotti Rist, Wolfgang Tillmans and Ryan Trecartin.

Curated by Jana Baumann
 

Monira Al Qadiri. Holy Quarter

Monira Al Qadiri. Holy Quarter

Kapsel 12

31.01.2020 - 30.08.2020
 
Franz Erhard Walther

Franz Erhard Walther

Shifting Perspectives

06.03.2020 - 29.11.2020
„Franz Erhard Walther
Shifting Perspectives“
Installationsansicht, Haus der Kunst, 2020
Foto: Markus Tretter, © VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2020

 
 

Upcoming exhibitions

Michael Armitage

Michael Armitage

Paradise Edict

04.09.2020 - 14.02.2021
 

Past exhibitions

Innenleben

Innenleben

29.11.2019 - 29.03.2020
Njideka Akunyili Crosby
Leonor Antunes
Henrike Naumann
Adriana Varejão

 

 
 

Markus Lüpertz

Markus Lüpertz

Die Zone der Malerei

13.09.2019 - 26.01.2020
 

Nachts. Zwischen Traum und Wirklichkeit

Nachts. Zwischen Traum und Wirklichkeit

Sammlung Goetz im Haus der Kunst

12.07.2019 - 06.01.2020
Ed van der Elsken
Paris, 1952
Gelatin silver print
40 x 31 cm
© the artist
Courtesy Sammlung Goetz, München

 

 
 

Miriam Cahn: Ich als Mensch. I as Human

Miriam Cahn: Ich als Mensch. I as Human

12.07.2019 - 27.10.2019
Miriam Cahn
atombombe, 1986, 1986
watercolor
50 x 42 cm (19 5/8 x 16 1/2 in.)
cahn_86_14-4510
Courtesy the artist, Galerie Jocelyn Wolff,
Paris and Meyer Riegger Berlin, Karlsruhe
Photo: François Doury

 
 

Archives in Residence: The Southeast Asia Performance Collection

Archives in Residence: The Southeast Asia Performance Collection

28.06.2019 - 29.09.2019
 

Michael Buthe

Michael Buthe

08.07.2016 - 20.11.2016
"For me my sun is, like all images, a functional object for seeing, for feeling, for dreaming, for understanding." In these words Michael Buthe (1944–1994) describes one of his central, recurrent motifs. With bright hues or gleaming gold, the artist collects the whole world, in fact the whole cosmos, within the circle of this heavenly body. The work of the globetrotter, who discovered on many trips the art and life from Morocco over North Africa, the Middle East  to Iran, encompasses archaic-looking assemblages, luminously colored works on paper and intensively treated canvases, collages and paintings in gold.
Michael Buthe knew no fear of contact: taking his lead from German Informal Art and American Minimal Art he is fascinated by non-European cultures, counters the cool concept of Minimalism with pronounced sensuality. Although a contemporary of the change from the industrial to the information society he deliberately drew like Joseph Beuys and the artists of the Italian Arte Povera on the sensual fullness of poor and natural materials. The artist changed numerous sculptures for new exhibition contexts. For just as lived life the artwork should transform permanently.
The retrospective at the Haus der Kunst combines loosely chronological important work groups. There are the early drawings of the 1960s and 1970s, the large-format fabric images, paintings, sculptures, assemblages including the only two remaining of his major installations, which appeal to all the senses of the audience, making Michael Buthe's spatial thinking tangible.
A cooperation between Kunstmuseum Luzern, S.M.A.K., Gent, and Haus der Kunst, Munich. Idea and concept: Heinz Stahlhut, Kunstmuseum Luzern.

Galerieseite (Detail): Stoffbild, 1969, Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg
Home, Slider und Reihung (Detail): Die heilige Nacht der Jungfräulichkeit, 1992, Kunstmuseum Luzern

Alle Bilder: Michael Buthe, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016
Fotos: Maximilian Geuter

Initiative Münchner Galerien zeitgenößischer Kunst

 

Haus der Kunst

Prinzregentenstr. 1 • 80538 M
Tel +49 (0) 89 211 27 113
www.hausderkunst.de
mail@hausderkunst.de
Mo–So 10–20 • Do 10–22
barrierefrei

Prinzregentenstr. 1
80538 München

Laufende Ausstellungen

Theaster Gates: Black Chapel

25.10.2019 - 16.08.2020
 

Sung Tieu. Zugzwang

Kapsel 11

30.01.2020 - 30.08.2020
 

Brainwashed

Brainwashed

31.01.2020 - 16.08.2020
Sammlung Goetz im Haus der Kunst, München

Brainwashed widmet sich dem popkulturellen Phänomen des Mainstreams, das seinen Höhepunkt in den frühen 2000er-Jahren erreichte. Kennzeichnend für diesen Mainstream waren Medienformate wie Reality-TV, Hollywood-Filmproduktionen mit dem Anspruch ein globales Ereignis zu sein, eine von Selbstoptimierung beherrschte Werbebranche sowie ein mit zahlreichen Musikvideos international forcierter Starkult.

Die Ausstellung geht der Frage nach, welche manipulativen Strategien in pluralistischen Gesellschaften einen medialen Gleichklang zu erzeugen vermochten, einen tonangebenden Geschmack in der Kultur, bis hin zur Propagierung von politischen Überzeugungen oder gar hegemonialen Geschichtsbildern.
Die Werkauswahl macht die Verknüpfung von Wirtschaft, Medien und Politik mit dem Ziel, Menschen zu beeinflussen und Gewinn zu maximieren, sichtbar. Die hier versammelten Künstlerinnen und Künstler legen kommerzielle Bildsprachen kritisch offen, ihre widersprüchlichen Verheißungen, Stereotypen und Klischees. Zu ihren künstlerischen Verfahren einer Dekonstruktion gehören neue Schnitt- und Collagetechniken ebenso wie vielfältige Praktiken der Selbstinszenierung, darunter zum Beispiel medial vermitteltes Branding.
Inwiefern sich der Mainstream der frühen 2000er-Jahre radikal destabilisierend auf ein Selbstvertrauen und persönliche Urteilskraft aus- und bis in die Gegenwart fortwirkt, wird greifbar. Hiervon waren auch die Künstlerbilder, die verbreitet wurden, betroffen. Für diese Mechanismen eines manipulierten Sehens und Fühlens sowie dadurch beeinflusste Rezeptionshaltungen in Erlebnisgesellschaften will die Ausstellung das Bewusstsein schärfen.

Mit assume vivid astro focus, A K Dolven, Cheryl Donegan, Ryan Gander, Jonathan Horowitz, Bjørn Melhus, Tracey Moffatt & Gary Hillberg, Shana Moulton, Seth Price, Paul Pfeiffer, Pipilotti Rist, Wolfgang Tillmans, und Ryan Trecartin.

Kuratiert von Jana Baumann

 

 
 

Monira Al Qadiri. Holy Quarter

Kapsel 12

31.01.2020 - 30.08.2020
 

Franz Erhard Walther

Shifting Perspectives

06.03.2020 - 29.11.2020
 

Kommende Ausstellungen


Vergangene Ausstellungen

Innenleben

Innenleben

29.11.2019 - 29.03.2020
Njideka Akunyili Crosby
Leonor Antunes
Henrike Naumann
Adriana Varejão

 

 
 

Markus Lüpertz

Markus Lüpertz

Die Zone der Malerei

13.09.2019 - 26.01.2020
 

Nachts. Zwischen Traum und Wirklichkeit

Nachts. Zwischen Traum und Wirklichkeit

Sammlung Goetz im Haus der Kunst

12.07.2019 - 06.01.2020
Ed van der Elsken
Paris, 1952
Gelatin silver print
40 x 31 cm
© the artist
Courtesy Sammlung Goetz, München

 

 
 

Miriam Cahn: Ich als Mensch. I as Human

Miriam Cahn: Ich als Mensch. I as Human

12.07.2019 - 27.10.2019
Miriam Cahn
atombombe, 1986, 1986
watercolor
50 x 42 cm (19 5/8 x 16 1/2 in.)
cahn_86_14-4510
Courtesy the artist, Galerie Jocelyn Wolff,
Paris and Meyer Riegger Berlin, Karlsruhe
Photo: François Doury

 
 

Archives in Residence: The Southeast Asia Performance Collection

Archives in Residence: The Southeast Asia Performance Collection

28.06.2019 - 29.09.2019
 

Michael Buthe

Michael Buthe

08.07.2016 - 20.11.2016
Michael Buthe (1944-1994) kannte keine Berührungsängste: Ausgehend vom deutschen Informel und der amerikanischen Minimal Art begeisterte er sich für außereuropäische Kulturen und setzte dem kühlen Konzept des Minimalismus ausgeprägte Sinnlichkeit entgegen. Das Schaffen des Weltenwanderers, der sich auf vielen Reisen Kunst und Alltag in Nordafrika, Nigeria und Benin sowie dem Mittleren Osten erschloss, umfasst archaisch wirkende Assemblagen, leuchtende Papierarbeiten, intensiv bearbeitete Leinwände, Collagen und Gemälde in Gold. Die Retrospektive im Haus der Kunst vereint lose chronologisch wichtige Werkgruppen: frühe Zeichnungen der 1960er- und 1970er-Jahre sowie die großformatigen Stoffbilder, Gemälde und Assemblagen. Durch die beiden letzten erhaltenen großen Installationen wird auch Buthes räumliches Arbeiten greifbar.

Eine Kooperation von Kunstmuseum Luzern, S.M.A.K., Gent, und Haus der Kunst, München. Idee und Konzept: Heinz Stahlhut, Kunstmuseum Luzern.

Galerieseite (Detail): Stoffbild, 1969, Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg
Home, Slider und Reihung (Detail): Die heilige Nacht der Jungfräulichkeit, 1992, Kunstmuseum Luzern

Alle Bilder: Michael Buthe, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016
Fotos: Maximilian Geuter