Initiative Münchner Galerien zeitgenößischer Kunst

 

Brainwashed

31.01.2020 - 20.09.2020
Brainwashed

Sammlung Goetz im Haus der Kunst, München

Brainwashed is dedicated to the pop cultural phenomenon of the mainstream, which reached its climax in the early 2000s. Characteristic of this mainstream were media formats such as reality TV, Hollywood film productions with the claim of being global events, an advertising industry dominated by self-improvement and an internationally driven star cult with countless music videos.

The exhibition explores the question as to which manipulative strategies in pluralistic societies were able to create a media consonance, a tone-setting taste in culture, including the propagation of political convictions or even hegemonic views of history.
The selection of works reveals the link between economy, media and politics, which aims at influencing people and maximizing profits. The artists brought together here critically expose commercial visual languages and their contradictory promises, stereotypes and clichés. Their artistic processes of deconstruction include new editing and collage techniques, as well as diverse practices of self-statging, such as medially communicated branding.
The extent to which the mainstream of the early 2000s resulted in – and continues to effect – a radically destabilised sense of self-confidence and personal judgement. This also affected the popular images we have of artists. The exhibition strives to raise awareness for these mechanisms of manipulated seeing and feeling, as well as the attitudes of reception influenced by them in event societies.

With assume vivid astro focus, A K Dolven, Cheryl Donegan, Ryan Gander, Jonathan Horowitz, Bjørn Melhus, Tracey Moffatt & Gary Hillberg, Shana Moulton, Seth Price, Paul Pfeiffer, Pipilotti Rist, Wolfgang Tillmans and Ryan Trecartin.

Curated by Jana Baumann

 

Taking place at

Haus der Kunst

Prinzregentenstr. 1 • 80538 M
Tel +49 (0) 89 211 27 113
www.hausderkunst.de
mail@hausderkunst.de
Mon–Sun 10 am – 8 pm • Thu 10 am – 10 pm

Initiative Münchner Galerien zeitgenößischer Kunst

 

Brainwashed

31.01.2020 - 20.09.2020
Brainwashed

Sammlung Goetz im Haus der Kunst, München

Brainwashed widmet sich dem popkulturellen Phänomen des Mainstreams, das seinen Höhepunkt in den frühen 2000er-Jahren erreichte. Kennzeichnend für diesen Mainstream waren Medienformate wie Reality-TV, Hollywood-Filmproduktionen mit dem Anspruch ein globales Ereignis zu sein, eine von Selbstoptimierung beherrschte Werbebranche sowie ein mit zahlreichen Musikvideos international forcierter Starkult.
Die Ausstellung geht der Frage nach, welche manipulativen Strategien in pluralistischen Gesellschaften einen medialen Gleichklang zu erzeugen vermochten, einen tonangebenden Geschmack in der Kultur, bis hin zur Propagierung von politischen Überzeugungen oder gar hegemonialen Geschichtsbildern.
Die Werkauswahl macht die Verknüpfung von Wirtschaft, Medien und Politik mit dem Ziel, Menschen zu beeinflussen und Gewinn zu maximieren, sichtbar. Die hier versammelten Künstlerinnen und Künstler legen kommerzielle Bildsprachen kritisch offen, ihre widersprüchlichen Verheißungen, Stereotypen und Klischees. Zu ihren künstlerischen Verfahren einer Dekonstruktion gehören neue Schnitt- und Collagetechniken ebenso wie vielfältige Praktiken der Selbstinszenierung, darunter zum Beispiel medial vermitteltes Branding.
Inwiefern sich der Mainstream der frühen 2000er-Jahre radikal destabilisierend auf ein Selbstvertrauen und persönliche Urteilskraft aus- und bis in die Gegenwart fortwirkt, wird greifbar. Hiervon waren auch die Künstlerbilder, die verbreitet wurden, betroffen. Für diese Mechanismen eines manipulierten Sehens und Fühlens sowie dadurch beeinflusste Rezeptionshaltungen in Erlebnisgesellschaften will die Ausstellung das Bewusstsein schärfen.
Mit assume vivid astro focus, A K Dolven, Cheryl Donegan, Ryan Gander, Jonathan Horowitz, Bjørn Melhus, Tracey Moffatt & Gary Hillberg, Shana Moulton, Seth Price, Paul Pfeiffer, Pipilotti Rist, Wolfgang Tillmans, und Ryan Trecartin.
Kuratiert von Jana Baumann

 

 

Ausstellungsort

Haus der Kunst

Prinzregentenstr. 1 • 80538 M
Tel +49 (0) 89 211 27 113
www.hausderkunst.de
mail@hausderkunst.de
Mo–So 10–20 • Do 10–22
barrierefrei